“Fly Away” – KS February 2024 Release Reveal – Day 3

Hi Everyone, welcome back to my blog. Today I am excited to showcase the “Fly Away” stamp set that features the iconic house with lots of beautiful balloons! This stamp set is one of three sets releasing this month that are part of the same fandom and pair so well together.

There is also a new paper pack that pairs with these sets as well called “Adventures” and they papers are gorgeous!

I created a total of 3 cards with this beautiful 3×4 set, including an interactive card using the Pull and Slide die set that I thought matched perfectly. All my cards use A2 panels after cutting them with the largest die in the Card Basics die set.

I stamped out the image 3 times and fussy cut it out. I used Copic markers to color the images.

With my first card, I wanted to highlight the beautiful sentiment “Home is wherever I am with you.” I wanted to create a scene where the house was stuck in the trees to show, even if it’s stuck, it’s still home because you are together.

I took an A2 panel and die cut out the Tree scene craft die twice, make sure to shift it over so that the trees did not overlap. I ink blended them with Forest Moss, Mowed Lawn and Twisted Citron Distress Oxides.

I then took another A2 panel and ink blended it with Uncharted Mariner, Peacock Feathers and Salvaged Patina. I splattered it with white water color.

On the front tree piece, I decided to heat emboss the sentiment directly onto it using the Embossing Ink Pad and Snowfall Embossing Powder.

I assembled my card by first adhering the trees with liquid adhesive. I then added the house in between the trees and adhered it with a mixture of liquid adhesive and foam tape.

My second card uses one of the papers from the Adventure’s paper pack. I thought the beautiful illustration for this page fit perfectly with the image from the stamp set. There is not too much to this card but I really wanted to showcase how beautiful the illustration was and wanted to keep it simple.

I die cut the A2 panel out using the Card Basics die set. Using the same die, I die cut it out of vellum as well. I wanted to create a bit of fog so I took a cloud die that I had in my stash and cut it out twice from the A2 vellum panel. I then die cut out one of the Stitched Sentiment Strip dies from navy cardstock and heat embossed the the sentiment directly onto the strip.

To assemble the card, I placed where I wanted the house to float and then the clouds immediately beneath it. I decided where I wanted the sentiment strip to go and added the liquid adhesive to the portion of the vellum that was immediately behind it. I added my house to the background using foam tape.

With my last card, I thought the Pull and Slide die set would be perfect to try and recreate a scene from the movie where the house is floating upwards after the bundle of balloons are revealed.

I die cut out the Cityscape die set from grey cardstock. I then die cut out another strip of paper to act as my sidewalk from grey cardstock. I ink blended both pieces with Black Soot, Weathered Wood and Hickory Smoke Distress Oxides. Then splattered these pieces with white watercolor to give it some interest. I trimmed down a piece of lighter grey cardstock and adhered it to the back of the buildings.

With another A2 panel, I blended Scattered Straw and Salvaged Patina Distress Oxides with a cloud stencil.

Once I had all of the pieces to create the scene, I laid them out so I knew where to make my cuts so that the pull tab mechanism could work. I decided to make sure that the tallest buildings would go on either side of the house. I then made my cuts using the corresponding dies.

I then adhered the sidewalk, inserted the pull tab that I die cut from aqua cardsock and adhered the house onto the tab. I adhered the building to either side of the house. I trimmed the top of the tab that stuck out and added the arrow piece die cut from white cards.

To complete my card, I die cut out another sentiment strip, this time from green cardstock and heat embossed the sentiment directly onto it. I adhered it onto the card with foam tape.

The entire Kindred Stamps release will be available this Friday at 8am PST/11am EST. Be sure to subscribe to the Kindred Stamps blog to see a daily line up of sneak peeks from our amazing Design Team! Come join the Fan Club and release event to be part of the release fun, and you may just win some Kindred Stamps credit!!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started