“Monster Hugs” – KS August 2023 Release Reveal – Day 1

Hello everyone and welcome back to my blog. I am excited to showcase the new Monster Hugs stamp set. This stamp set features the sweetest monsters, and a couple of humans. ever that you’ve come to know and love. There are coordinating dies available here.

I created a total a 5 cards for this 6×8 stamp set including a larger A7 card. All my images were stamped out and I fussy cut them as well. I used Copic Markers to color the images.

All 4 of these cards uses A2 panels cut from the largest die in the Card Basics die set. This die set also includes a square die that helped me create a card sized polaroid. More details to follow.

For my A7 sized card, I wanted it to look like these characters are saying hello from the hotel windows. I first took an A7 sized die and cut it out of white cardstock. I blended it with Pumice Stone Distress Oxides and then took the Distressed Brick Stencil and blended it with Weathered Wood and Hickory Smoke Distress Oxides.

I then took a dome shaped die and cut it out of the panel 4 times to create the windows. I took another panel and blended it with Mustard Seed and Scattered Straw. I splattered this background piece with white watercolor to give it some interest. I took the Spiderweb Craft die and cut it out of black cardstock.

I then stamped the sentiment out onto teal cardstock with Embossing Ink pad and heat embossed it with Snowfall Embossing powder. I trimmed it down to size. With a tiny bat die that I had in my stash, I cut it out of black cardstock. I then assembled my card using liquid adhesive.

For my next card, I wanted to feature the wolf. I first cut out a circle mask using a circle die and taped it onto an A2 panel so I can start working on my moon. Once taped on, I took Twisted Citron, Peacock Feathers and Uncharted Mariner and blended it around the mask. I splattered it with white watercolor once complete. I then removed the mask and took the Blood Splatter stencil and blended it with Hickory Smoke and Pumice Stone Distress Oxide.

I cut an A2 panel out of black cardstock and used the Grass Scene craft die to create my grass piece. I heat embossed the sentiment directly onto this piece. Using another piece of black cardstock, I cut out the Spooky Tree die.

I assembled my card using liquid adhesive and foam tape.

For my next card, I really liked the sentiment and wanted to create a Polaroid card to symbolize the “memories.” The Polaroid frame was very easy to make. I just took an A2 Panel and die cut out a square using the die included in the die set. I stamped the sentiment directly onto the polaroid and set it to the side.

To create my background, I took a black A2 panel and cut out two hill pieces using the Grass Scene craft die. I then cut out the Spooky Fence die and Haunted House die from black cardstock. I trimmed down a piece of white cardstock to fit the back of the house and blended it with Scattered Straw and Mustard Seed Distress Oxides.

To create my background, I took an A2 panel and blended the top half with Uncharted Mariner, Villainous Potion and Seedless Preserves. I splattered it with white watercolor once complete. I assembled my card using liquid adhesive. Because the girl is a vampire, I decided to position “outside” of the frame as I believe they can’t be photographed.

For my next card, I wanted to highlight the vampire father and the the batty sentiment. I took an A2 panel and an older, retired spiral stencil and blended it with Candied Apple and Lumberjack Plaid Distress Oxides.

Using a bat stencil that I had in my stash, I blended it with Weathered Wood and Black Soot Distress Oxides. I heat embossed my sentiment onto teal cardstock and trimmed it down to size.

I completed my card by adhering both the vampire and the sentiment using foam tape.

For my last card, I wanted to create a scene where the monsters were bursting out of a closet in one of the hotel rooms. Either to give you a cute spook or to wonderful hello! I first took an A2 panel and blended it with Pumice Stone. I then took an older stencil and blended it with Weathered Wood and Hickory Smoke. On the bottom portion of the card, I blended it with Uncharted Mariner.

I took the Closet craft die and cut it out of white cardstock. I blended it with Antique Linen, Tea Dye and Gathered Twigs. I also trimmed down a piece of cardstock to fit the back of the closet and blended it as well.

I stamped the sentiment directly onto the card panel and used a mixture of liquid adhesive and foam tape to complete my card.

The entire Kindred Stamps release will be available this Friday at 8am PST/11am EST. Be sure to subscribe to the Kindred Stamps blog to see a daily line up of sneak peeks from our amazing Design Team! Come join the Fan Club and release event to be part of the release fun, and you may just win some Kindred Stamps credit!!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started